The International Efebo d’Oro Award, which is organised by the Research Centre for Cinema and Narrative, was started in November 1978 to counter the decline of cinema due to television. From its foundation to 2013, the prize’s ceremony was hosted in the city of Agrigento, then it was moved to Palermo. Well-established in the landscape of the National Film Awards for its originality and illustrious figures who have participated in the various editions, the prize has been officially recognized also by the Italian Ministry of Heritage and Culture

Every year, the Efebo d’Oro awards a filmmaker for the best film based on a literary work. In 1979 Un borghese piccolo piccolo by Mario Monicelli received the first Efebo d’Oro and the list of filmmakers awarded since then includes the most excellent artists of the Italian and European Cinema. The Efebo is recognized to be a cultural initiative of the utmost interest that focuses on the long-standing relationship between cinema and literature, with the contribution of artists, filmmakers, actors and screenwriters.


In 1983 a new section was introduced, dedicated to TV and New Languages, alongside a new prize for the best book on Cinema.

The Efebo d’Oro does not aim simply to promote the cinematic adaptation of literary works but to emphasize the intense exchange occurring between the two languages, which remain independent. Frédéric Fonteyne, winner of the 2005 edition significantly said that without literature cinema would be pure entertainment showing pornography and violence, and that the great cinema places its roots in the thoughts and fear of humans, in the anxieties and aspirations that the written page can express so well.

STAFF 2017

president of  “Centro di Ricerca per la Narrativa e il Cinema”
Egle Palazzolo
artistic direction
Giovanni Massa
programmer and organizer
Laura Busetta 
organizational secretariat 
Eleonora Giammanco
support for the organization
Vincenzo Castronovo, Federica D’Anna, Violetta Massa, Pietro Renda
graphic and web design
Studio Forward

JURY 2017


Letizia Battaglia
Daniele Ciprì
Egle Palazzolo
Volker Schlöndorff
Nicoletta Vallorani


Daniela Gambino
Francesco Romeo
Daniela Tornatore


Piero Chiara
Mario Monicelli
Florestano Vancini
Ettore Scola
Istvan Szabò
Marco Ferreri
Giuliano Montaldo
François Truffaut
Josè Maria Sanchez
Andrè Delvaux
Marco Tullio Giordana
Hector Babenco
Giancarlo Cobelli
Francesco Rosi
Franco Rossi
Giuseppe Bertolucci
Sandro Bolchi
Marco Risi
Marco Leto
Jerry Schatzberg
Ettore Scola
Giacomo Battiato
Alain Corneau
Andrea e Antonio Frazzi
Roberto Faenza
Josè Maria Sanchez
Jim Sheridan
Michele Placido
Claude Lelouch
Danny Boyle
Brian Gilbert
Jean-Daniel Verhaeghe
Giuseppe Tornatore
Francesco Maselli
Manoel De Oliveira
Alberto Sironi
Bernard Rapp
Gilles Taurand
Philippe Balland,
Alberto Negrin
Richard Eyre
Cinzia Th Torrini
Gabriele Salvatores
Fabrizio Costa
Walter Salles
Maurizio Zaccaro
Frédéric Fonteyne
Giacomo Battiato
Emmanuelle Carrère
Massimo Spano
Paolo e Vittorio Taviani
Vittorio Sindoni
Stefan Ruzowitzky
Antonio Frazzi
Marco Bellocchio
Ambrogio Lo Giudice
Pasquale Scimeca
Michele Guardì
Nic Balthazar
Giulio Base
Gianni Amelio
Roberto Andò
Graziano Diano
Francesco Munzi
Saverio Costanzo
Salvatore Ficarra
Valentino Picone
Gioacchino Criaco
Piero Chiara
Manuel Puig
Michelangelo Antonioni
Vittorio Storaro
Gianni Amelio
Angelo Badalamenti
Lina Wertmüller
Carlo Lizzani
Roberto Andò
Pupi Avati